Information for Runners

Race Date: Sunday, September 30th, 2018.  Register Now

Start Time:  7:00 a.m. for 20 Miler and 7:20 a.m. for 5 Miler.

Race Highlights:

  • Four weeks before the Marine Corps Marathon
  • The perfect tune-up race and training run for a fall marathon!
  • An excellent first-time trail race!
  • Water/Aid Stations at approximately 2.5-mile intervals

Awards: Over $1,100 in award money. 20-Miler: Gift certificates to top three men and women overall, and first male and female master. Ten-year age-group awards for top three men and women in each group (plus the under-19 group).

Location: Carderock Recreation Area, Chesapeake and Ohio Canal Towpath, Potomac, MD 20854

Directions: Take the Capital Beltway (I-495), to the Clara Barton Parkway headed west, outside the Beltway.  Take the first exit, which is for both Carderock and the Naval Surface Warfare Center (Carderock Division). Turn left at the stop sign at the top of the ramp to cross the parkway. After passing under the canal, turn right and proceed to the third parking area at the end of the road. You may park at one of the other areas, wherever you can find an open space.

Timing and Bib Numbers: Bib number must be visible at all times during the race.  The race will be chip-timed using the Chronotrack chip timing system.  All runners will be given a net and gun time. Overall awards will be based on gun time and age groups based on chip time.

Long Sleeve Hoodie (2018)

Post Race Celebration:  Race finishers will enjoy snacks, fruit, coffee, water, Gatorade, and other goodies.

Limited Field: Enter early! By terms of our permit with the National Park Service, the size of the field (20 Miler and 5 Miler combined) is limited to 300 runners. All runners must remain in single file on the bike path and yield to pedestrians.

2017 Winners

 20 Miler 5 Miler
Men Women Men Women
1st Place Exavier Watson Sarah Bishop Kevin D’Amanda Lucia Acin-Andion
2nd Place Jamie Henry Silvia Baage Derek Ross Mary Fiedler
3rd Place Dave Brems Liz Greenlaw Mike McCarthy Janet Braunstein
Master Michael Price-Jones Daryle Lademan